Skip to main content



Board of Directors


The York County SPCA was founded in 1926. We are a nonprofit independent humane organization with no affiliation with other animal welfare organizations such as the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA), and donations to the ASPCA do not make their way back to this local shelter. Most of our funding comes from generous individual community members and civic organizations. The rest of our funding comes from fundraising events, grants, fees, and municipal contracts. We could not do this important work without the ongoing love and support of our community members.

If you value our services in your community, please consider a monetary donation. Your support is literally lifesaving. Go here to make a contribution.

The York County SPCA is governed by an independent Board of Directors who serve as the fiduciaries, steering the shelter towards a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as by making sure the York County SPCA has adequate resources to advance its mission.

Meet the 2020-2021 Board of Directors


Carolyn Warman, President

Holly Gumke, Vice President

Katie Mahoney, Secretary

Michelle Frye, Treasurer

Jane Davis, Past President

Board Members

Nancy Brougher (Emeritus)

Sue DeStephano

Vicki Glatfelter

Kathy King (Emeritus)

Christian Miller

Dr. Valerie Miller

Alyssa Moyer

John Porter

Teresa Shultz Fogelman

Tricia Slagel

Anne Wagner (Emeritus)

Chuck Wolf